Sphinx

3 Responses to “Sphinx”

  1. What does the sphinx symbolize? Why do you think it’s important that H. G. Wells used a sphinx statue as the place where the Traveler’s machine was hidden?

  2. he uses a sphinx because its a female goddess that asks any man a riddle and if they dont answer correctly she kills them. and in the story seeing as they describes the people as sheep, and how they are scared to death at night when its dark.. obviously theres something or someone missing in the picture.. because there cant be the sheep like people scared for no reason.. and i think i find it like a punishment, why he got the time machine taken away and put in the sphinx, like you know.. punishing him for messing with the future in the first place!

  3. Oh, I like your last point. Excellent idea. I was thinking along the same lines myself. I had really hoped that I would get my copy of the movie before school ended but I think it got help up in the mail. If you get a chance, watch the movie. It is very entertaining, although completely irrelevant to the novel. haha

Leave a comment